Parlando: The COC Blog


The 2017 Dora Mavor Moore Awards


The nominations for the 38th annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards were announced on Tuesday, May 30 and the Canadian Opera Company and its affiliated artists were recognized with 27 nominations across 10 categories. The nominations are as follows as they relate to the opera-related categories of the Dora Awards:

Outstanding Production

  • Ariodante
  • Götterdämmerung
  • Norma
  • Tosca

Outstanding Musical Direction

  • Johannes Debus, Götterdämmerung
  • Keri-Lynn Wilson, Tosca
  • Stephen Lord, Norma

Outstanding Direction

  • Peter Hinton, Louis Riel
  • Tim Albery, Götterdämmerung

OutStanding Performance, Female

  • Jane Archibald, Ariodante
  • Christine Goerke, Götterdämmerung
  • Adrianne Pieczonka, Tosca
  • Sondra Radvanovsky, Norma

Outstanding Performance, Male

  • Andreas Schager, Götterdämmerung
  • Ain Anger, Götterdämmerung
  • Marcelo Puente, Tosca
  • Russell Braun, Louis Riel

Outstanding Performance, Ensemble

  • The Ensemble of Louis Riel

Outstanding Choreography

  • Lucy Burge, Ariodante

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Jessica Jahn, Norma
  • Kevin Knight, Tosca
  • Ultz, Ariodante

Outstanding Scenic Design

  • Ultz, Ariodante
  • Michael Levine, Götterdämmerung
  • David Korins, Norma

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Duane Schuler, Norma
  • David Finn, Götterdämmerung

Congratulations to all of the COC artists that were nominated! The winners of the 38th annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards will be announced on Monday, June 26, 2017 at the Elgin Theatre. For the full list of nominees this year, click here.

Banner image: Sondra Radvanovsky in ​Norma​ (COC, 2016), photo by Michael Cooper

Posted by COC Staff / in / comments (2) / permalink

PaulR (5/31/2017 9:59:45 PM)
Sondra in Norma. Oh, yes and Norma. Did I mention Norma?
Ann Cooper Gay (6/9/2017 4:00:01 PM)
Huge congratulations to everyone, especially the COC artists! What a spectacular season. Bravi tutti!!! xxAnn

Sara Fulgoni in the COC production of Bluebeard's Castle. Photo: Michael Cooper © 2001



Subscribe to the COC e-mail newsletter.
Contact Tanner
Have a question? Want to share a link? Submit a comment!