Parlando: The COC Blog


Announcing the 2017/2018 Free Concert Series Season!

Free Concert Series in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre 

The Free Concert Series in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre is back! Our 2017/2018 season begins on September 26, 2017 with a performance by the rising stars of the COC Ensemble Studio. Join over 400 artists from Canada and around the world, from headlining stars to emerging young talent, to celebrate Toronto’s rich artistic and cultural diversity in 76 concerts across six series—vocal, chamber, piano, dance, jazz and world music.

Click here for the complete 2017/2018 season schedule.
You won't want to miss a concert!


Photo credit: Sae Yoon Chon performs in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre, 2017, photo: Karen E. Reeves.

Posted by COC Staff / in Free Concert Series / comments (0) / permalink


Shooting Opera: Part 1


Before shooting for the Free Concert Series in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre and eventually, mainstage productions and opera events, I was primarily a fine art landscape photographer. The COC gave me an opportunity to broaden my skills, meet great people, and of course, gain a greater appreciation for opera and a wide variety of performance genres!

Above: Jane Archibald in the COC's 2012 production of Semele

Above: Eric Margiore and Joyce El-Khoury in the COC's 2013 production of La Bohème

Above: a scene from the COC's 2015 production of La Traviata

Above: members of the COC Ensemble Studio performing as part of the Free Concert Series in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre

Above: members of Canada's Ballet Jörgen performing as part of the Free Concert Series in the Richard Bradshaw Amphitheatre

Banner image: Anna Christy in Lucia di Lammermoor (COC, 2013); all photos by Chris Hutcheson.

Posted by Tanner Davies / in TOTCML / comments (0) / permalink


The 2017 Dora Mavor Moore Awards


The nominations for the 38th annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards were announced on Tuesday, May 30 and the Canadian Opera Company and its affiliated artists were recognized with 27 nominations across 10 categories. The nominations are as follows as they relate to the opera-related categories of the Dora Awards:

Outstanding Production

  • Ariodante
  • Götterdämmerung
  • Norma
  • Tosca

Outstanding Musical Direction

  • Johannes Debus, Götterdämmerung
  • Keri-Lynn Wilson, Tosca
  • Stephen Lord, Norma

Outstanding Direction

  • Peter Hinton, Louis Riel
  • Tim Albery, Götterdämmerung

OutStanding Performance, Female

  • Jane Archibald, Ariodante
  • Christine Goerke, Götterdämmerung
  • Adrianne Pieczonka, Tosca
  • Sondra Radvanovsky, Norma

Outstanding Performance, Male

  • Andreas Schager, Götterdämmerung
  • Ain Anger, Götterdämmerung
  • Marcelo Puente, Tosca
  • Russell Braun, Louis Riel

Outstanding Performance, Ensemble

  • The Ensemble of Louis Riel

Outstanding Choreography

  • Lucy Burge, Ariodante

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Jessica Jahn, Norma
  • Kevin Knight, Tosca
  • Ultz, Ariodante

Outstanding Scenic Design

  • Ultz, Ariodante
  • Michael Levine, Götterdämmerung
  • David Korins, Norma

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Duane Schuler, Norma
  • David Finn, Götterdämmerung

Congratulations to all of the COC artists that were nominated! The winners of the 38th annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards will be announced on Monday, June 26, 2017 at the Elgin Theatre. For the full list of nominees this year, click here.

Banner image: Sondra Radvanovsky in ​Norma​ (COC, 2016), photo by Michael Cooper

Posted by COC Staff / in / comments (2) / permalink

Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10  >> Next 

Sara Fulgoni in the COC production of Bluebeard's Castle. Photo: Michael Cooper © 2001



Subscribe to the COC e-mail newsletter.
Contact Tanner
Have a question? Want to share a link? Submit a comment!